Watch this video for all of the details related to permissions and/or read the details below:
To invite members to your Starchive, go to your account settings icon in the top right corner, click the arrow, and navigate to "manage all members". Once in the member settings window, you can invite new members and edit or deactivate members in your Starchive.
Here's how user permissions work in Starchive. To start, first, choose either "Total Access" or "Limited Access". Details here:
1. Total access
A user with total access can upload, edit, organize, share and delete files, even those uploaded by other friends and colleagues within the Starchive. You can then select whether the user can manage members. If someone has permission to manage members, they are able to invite new users, activate, deactivate, and change the permissions of existing members.
2. Limited Access
If you want to more closely control a new user’s permissions, you can add them with Limited Access. By default, users with limited access can upload files into your Starchive and have complete control over those files. They will not be able to see, edit, or delete files that anyone else has uploaded.
You can then choose if the new user will be able to see files that other users have uploaded. With “Can see other people’s files” selected, you then determine if the user can edit other’s files, and whether they can download and share those files.
I want this new user to be able to see all the files within my Starchive and download them, but I don’t want them to be able to make any edits to any files. To do this, I’ll add them with Limited Access, Can see other’s files selected, and Can Download and share.
Back at the members page, all users of the Starchive are listed, including the owner. If I made a mistake and want to cancel the invite I just sent, I can click the cancel invite button. You can see the permission levels of each member under each person's name and email. Clicking this button will deactivate the user, which will restrict them from accessing your Starchive. Deactivated users can easily be reactivated lower on the list.
We have also made changes to the permissions of collections. When you first create a collection, it is private, and only you can view the files organized within it. To add all members of your Starchive, click the Add everyone button, or you can select individual users. Members permissions within your collection can be chosen in the exact way as when inviting a new user to your Starchive. After creation is complete, all members who have access to the collection can be seen on the main collection page. You can then easily remove specific users by clicking here, or even remove all the users from the collection by clicking the manage button, and selecting “Remove all Members”.
Article is closed for comments.